AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Audio Research

Audio Research State of the Art Audio Reproduction

Old 11-09-2017, 08:12 PM

Default ARC Ref 5SE Question

I am new to ARC and am looking to buy a used Ref 5SE. Has there been any changes over the years on the Ref 5SE since its introduction? Would one built in 2011 or 2012 be exactly the same as 2015? Any reasons to buy a more recent one rather than older one?

Thank you in advance..
Old 11-09-2017, 08:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tie_breaker View Post
I am new to ARC and am looking to buy a used Ref 5SE. Has there been any changes over the years on the Ref 5SE since its introduction? Would one built in 2011 or 2012 be exactly the same as 2015? Any reasons to buy a more recent one rather than older one?

Thank you in advance..
The only thing I am aware of is the whole "brown board vs. green board" controversy. Early ones had brown. Newer ones have green. Many people swear that the brown ones sound better. ARC claims the green ones sound at least as good.

I've never heard a direct comparison, but I seriously doubt that the boards can make an audible difference. But I suppose it's possible.

FWIW, all the new Ref6's are green boards and they sound even better, so I don't think the board was ever a limiting factor.
Old 11-09-2017, 08:32 PM

Default Ref 5se

Had a 5se, Got a 6. The construction remained the same, this from a very knowledgeable dealer. Sold for $5500 and 150 hours. I had heard of the brown/green board comparison and heard it was something about soldering procedure.

Last edited by The Trace; 11-09-2017 at 08:35 PM.
Old 11-09-2017, 08:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fastdriving View Post
The only thing I am aware of is the whole "brown board vs. green board" controversy. Early ones had brown. Newer ones have green. Many people swear that the brown ones sound better. ARC claims the green ones sound at least as good.