AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Acoustical Treatments

Acoustical Treatments Because the room matters

Old 04-21-2018, 08:37 PM

Default To couch or not to couch

So I was chasing this 75Hz null and discovered its a big leather couch (obvious to most, but I'm still learning). If I swap it with chairs, do people think it would result in much improvement or will the chairs create similar impact in the end? Diminishing returns? The room has treatment.

Not that the the Eames chair thread had anything to do with this...

Perhaps I'll try some room processing software as a plugin on the Mac mini and see what improvements that will yield (software is a lot cheaper). I don't know if that introduces DA conversion signatures (I don't like delta-sigma) since it happens before my DAC. I'm not sure how those packages work to do their adjustments (they do something with the signal, but in what domain and how do they decode). I like what the MEN220 did to room acoustics, but after getting the Gumby found I preferred it out of path due to its delta-sigma DAC. This was also after I had added a lot of room treatment (MEN220 improvements were less after room treatment).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-04-21 at 7.06.41 PM.jpg (21.3 KB, 116 views)
Old 04-22-2018, 09:19 AM

How did you find out its the couch?

Allthough furniture would impact somewhat, I dont think its the main reason for having such a big null. Must be speaker and/or listening position placement.

Why dont you move the couch out of the way in the back or better out of the room, and try some chairs. Since you are measuring, it would give you all the information you need by trying.
Old 04-22-2018, 10:03 AM

Lurk
Old 04-22-2018, 01:27 PM

I should move it out, but there is this hall...