AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Wyred 4 Sound

Wyred 4 Sound Rediscover Your Music

Old 04-24-2010, 12:18 AM
From the BAT cave ...

Default Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE

I just obtained this stereo preamp and I am impressed right out of the box. Now, of course, I realize it will need to break in for a good while - the manufacturer recommends 200 hours. And I have not heard the range of gear that many of you have and own. But for $1999 this preamp is amazing.

Wyred claims this preamp is a sort of hybrid between passive and active, it is fully balanced, and sports a number of interesting engineering choices. I am a lawyer and not an engineer so my technical opinions are suspect, but I sure am convinced so far. I am running low volume (staying in passive range) in a 24 x 16 x 7 room and this jewel is maintaining iron fisted control over the bass, with outstanding attack and decay, and wonderful imaging. Oh, and it is playing nicely with my Wilson Sophia II's and my "lowrent" Emotiva MPS-1 amp.
Old 04-24-2010, 01:24 AM

I have the scaled down version of it in my STI-500 and it's the best piece of gear I've owned so far.

HT: Marantz AV7005, W4S Mini MC-5, Custom Waveguide Towers, SVSPB12-Plus/2
Old 04-24-2010, 05:13 AM
Against the Tide

Great review from 6moons. Their new DAC's should be a winner as well!.

6moons audio reviews: Wyred4Sound STP
Old 04-24-2010, 10:28 AM

I have a DAC-2 on order, should be here the middle of next month.

HT: Marantz AV7005, W4S Mini MC-5, Custom Waveguide Towers, SVSPB12-Plus/2
Old 04-25-2010, 12:20 PM

Received my Wyred4Sound DAC1 on Friday, so far so good.

mP
Old 04-26-2010, 11:03 AM

A good friend of mine owns the STP SE pre-amp and it is amazing that this piece sounds so good for the asking price.
Old 04-29-2010, 08:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by akai View Post
Received my Wyred4Sound DAC1 on Friday, so far so good.

mP