AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > McIntosh Audio

McIntosh Audio A Tradition of Excellence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #111  
Old 09-18-2018, 02:33 PM
Vignotra's Avatar
Vignotra Vignotra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 179
Default

Good evening. Unfortunately one of the channels on my MC205 is gone. I heard a blast and I felt a burning smell. Probably one of the transistors was burned. I need your help. Does anyone have the MC205 service manual?
Thank you in advance.
__________________
Vincenzo
Main system: C1000T - MCD/MDA1000 - MCD1100 - MT10 - MC 1.2Kw x 2 - Sonus faber Lilium - Pioneer D07.
2nd system: MA6600 - MCD500 - Thorens TD160HD - Klipsch Heresy III
HT system:
MC501 x 2 - MC205 - MX121 - MVP 891
Yamaha Bd 1067S - Dynaudio Contour 5.4S /SCX/ - Audience 72SE - B&W705.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 11-11-2018, 12:01 AM
70sMac's Avatar
70sMac 70sMac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: The Berkshires
Posts: 43
Default

I don't own anything in your initial list, Ivan, but thanks for being so thoughtful! This thread must be a life saver for many a Mac owner.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 11-19-2018, 03:13 PM
remdeck remdeck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Hello community,

I'm new here. Thanx for that I can be here :-)

I searched the whole internet, asked Berners.ch but can't find the Service Manuals for the 2 McIntosh amps which I have here to sell from a friend who died....

The first one is the incredible MC7300. This amp is working so incredible good on my Avantgarde Acoustic Uno it has to stay with us; my wife is in complete love with the MC7300 :-)
It just has some bulbs off (see LED thread) but I just wanted to check the bias and have a service manual at hand, when something gets wrong...
Is the MC7270 or MC300 more alike?

The second amp is a C39 which has also some bulbs off.
The problem is that the volume doesn't respond after power-on at first -second -third time. Also no resonse with the remote control.
Sometimes it just works perfectly. Maybe someone has a clue? Allready cleaned the connectors, looked at the connectors solder. It seems better now, but the problem still exists.
A service manual from the C39 /MX130 would be great... Didn't find it and berners doesn't react to my email.

Happy listening!
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 11-25-2018, 03:14 PM
remdeck remdeck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Default

I've done some research.
The MC7300 and the MC300 are actually very much the same amp.
The volume pots are on the back of the MC300. Also the case got a lot deeper as to give more room for the electronics. Same powertransistors, the driverboard looks completely the same on pictures.

I've got the service manual of the MC300. The bias can be adjusted, but there is no information how to do it. I've seen TP1 and TP2, which are both marked with 0V. Can this be the Testpoints for the Bias? Connect the Voltmeter across TP1 and TP2 and adjust on 0V ??

I have bought a original Service Manual of the MC7300 on Ebay. It's on it's way to me, when I have it, I will put it here for all of you.

The C39 is still with me, with the same problem. Sometimes the Volume doesn't work when powered on. The motor turns when using the remote, but the level doesn't increase/decrease.

Happy listening!!
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:36 PM
remdeck remdeck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Default MC 7300 Service Manual

As I understand that I have to post at least 10 topics till I can write email or post my own thread, I don't know how to give access to all of you to the Service Manual of the MC 7300, which I converted to pdf.

So, what to do next?

I will look into detailled differences between the MC300 and MC7300 in the next few days.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 12-12-2018, 03:03 PM
remdeck remdeck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Default

The MC 7300 and MC 300 are very much the same amplifier. The driverboard, the power transistor Section, the powersupply and the metersection are completely the same.
Only differences l've found are in the input section, as the volume potentiometer has different positions in both amps
I would asume that it is possible to swap the pcb's around.
Regards...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2018 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase