AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Mark Levinson

Mark Levinson Sound that Speaks for Itself

Old 06-14-2017, 08:54 AM

Default Mark Levinson 585

I have always been a fan of a simple easy to use setup, mostly because it keeps my wife happy that she can operate it without issue, and I can continue on with upgrades. My combination of Krell S300 integrated amp and PS Audio NuWave DAC was nice, but since there was no remote for the DAC it meant either walking up to the equipment rack to change inputs on it depending on which digital source we wanted to use, or potentially changing inputs on the Krell if we wanted to switch from a digital source to an analog one. My wife eventually got the hang of it, but there were still times where I got a text message asking why she wasn't getting sound.

A week ago I was talking with the guys at my local dealer that I have been doing business with for probably 15-20 years now (not sure I can mention their name, but they are the only Mark Levinson dealer in Iowa, so pretty easy to find) and they put together a deal I couldn't pass up. I traded in my Krell, PS NuWave DAC, and even the PS DLIII DAC I had laying around on a Mark Levinson 585. My wife liked the deal mostly because I took 3 things in to the stereo store and only returned with one

I have had the 585 up and running for about 15 hours only at this point, mostly just streaming from Spotify via Sonos to get some hours on it while I work from home so I don't have a lot of critical opinions of it yet, but even the difference between 0 hours and 15 is pretty impressive. The improvement over my Krell/NuWave combo is already huge, and more improvements beyond what it is now will just be gravy. It seems like this integrated amp was made specifically for my Revel Studio 2's, they work so well together.