AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Pre-Amps & Amplifiers

Pre-Amps & Amplifiers All Brands Welcome

Old 11-21-2012, 04:14 PM

Default Help With Preamp Choices

OK, so I've been sitting on my butt for over 6 months now trying to figure out if there is a one-box HT/2 ch Preamp solution out there for me, but there isn't, at least for me. I needed a combination of capabilities that not one had: great analog preamp, excellent processing, Hi-level auto EQ/RC, etc. If only the MX150 had a true analog bypass, that would probably have been my choice (

The alternative was to go with a two-box solution of a good processor and a good preamp with HT bypass. This is the route I've just chosen: I just pre-ordered the Marantz AV8801, which gives me very good HT with Audyssey XT32 room correction (almost as good as Mac's Room Perfect), which I believe is very important for HT.

Now it's on to the search for a complimentary 2 channel preamp. Here's what I'm looking for:

Budget is roughly $4k, but can push that higher for compelling reasons. Need HT Bypass, would love to have tone controls or EQ, built-in DAC nice but not essential, as is asynch USB input (my next purchase will be music server). Soundwise, I am really a fan of the fuller, richer Mcintosh kinda sound versus analytical, highly detailed sound (although I do like detail like anyone else, this is an OK trade-off for me if I have to pick one).

My top contenders right now are the Classe CP800 and the Mac C48. Both have pretty much everything, however, I have a few questions for those that have either model. Another contender is the Mac C2300, as I do like the idea of tubes (for some added warmth and presence) and it does have tone controls.