AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Audio Research

Audio Research State of the Art Audio Reproduction

Old 09-07-2017, 11:07 AM

Default JRiver Media Center with CD-9?

Is anyone here running the JRiver Media Center software (https://www.jriver.com/overview.html) to drive the DAC inputs to the CD-9? I just downloaded a demo version of the JRiver player and am running it from my high-end Dell XPS15 laptop. I'm trying to use it to play HD audio files via the USB input to the CD-9 DAC, but without much success. I probably have something misconfigured but I'm not sure what because I'm just learning the software.

I tried playing back some FLAC files but what I hear is badly distorted music, as though it's clipping. The front panel of the CD-9 does indicate it's locking onto the clock (176.4 kHz for some files and 96 kHz for others).

If you are running the JRiver software, what output settings are you using?
Old 09-07-2017, 06:03 PM

What input on the CD9 are you using? The USB input requires the installation of a driver.
Old 09-07-2017, 08:21 PM

I am using the USB input and I did the driver installation with the software I downloaded from ARC.
Old 09-07-2017, 09:10 PM

What does JRiver say? There's a button with 3 vertical bars (just to the right of the shuffle and repeat buttons) that will tell you what it is doing during playback.
Old 09-08-2017, 07:38 PM

I tried playing several different music files with different sampling rates in the FLAC format. In each case, the 3 vertical bars light up blue and if I click on the bars, I open up a window that tells me the input format and the output format for the file currently being played. Still, I get horribly distorted audio output.