AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > McIntosh Audio

McIntosh Audio A Tradition of Excellence

Old 11-26-2017, 01:30 PM

Default MB50 Experience

I wanted to share my experience with the MB50 streaming audio player with all who are interested. I'm fairly new to digital audio and am nowhere near an expert. I started about a year ago by adding a Bluesound Node 2 to my basement main system and the convenience of the new format steadily grew on me. I consider the Node 2 to be a fantastic entry level component that helped me get acquainted with digital. A couple of months ago I decided to move the Node 2 to my second system upstairs so my wife could enjoy it. I replaced it in the main system with a Cambridge Audio 851N which is a very flexible and great sounding component. Its dual DACs are very good at taming harsher sounding recordings while still revealing adequate amounts of detail. A very good smooth analog-like sound. When run through its digital outputs to my C47 preamp, I was able to take advantage of the C47's superior DAC. The 851N also sports a nice front panel display for album and track info while playing. It's a great piece for its $1400 asking price. It seemed that the Cambridge was going to stay in my system, but there were a few little things that bothered me about it. First, it just didn't look quite right in my all McIntosh system and second, its made in China. Last week, my wife asked if I'd made up my mind on it and asked who made it and where. When I told her it was a British product made in China, she asked if McIntosh offered anything similar. I said yes, but it would cost more money. She told me to order the McIntosh and try it out, because she's actually more anal about China made products than I am and she commented that it would blend in better with my other components. Well, I didn't want to pass on the opportunity and quickly ordered the MB50 for a 60-day trial from Music Direct. As others have said,