AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Ayre

Ayre A new dimension of musical enjoyment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-05-2018, 09:21 PM
enatai252's Avatar
enatai252 enatai252 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bellevue WA
Posts: 555
Default DX-5 DSD upgrade

Yes you can only run one core at a time unless you buy another license. Here is a link to get started

https://kb.roonlabs.com/RoonBridge
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:11 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 122
Default

The DX-5 DSD is scheduled to be shipped from Beverly Hills to Montecito (Santa Barbara) tomorrow. I plan to run only one core at a time. I appreciate the advice you've provided; it served as a basis for confirming my offer on the unit.

db
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-05-2018, 03:55 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 122
Default

After Montecito dug out from the mud I finally picked up the DX-5 DSD that had been scheduled to be delivered the day of the flood. I installed it yesterday, but was frustrated because balanced analog and digital BD played fine, but no sound from SACDS. It finally occurred to me that the Bryston SP3 doesn't accept DSD and the previous owner may have used DSD. That was the problem. With the DX-5 DSD sending 24/192 LPCM, the sound with SACDs is spectacular. The DX-5 DSD must send very clean HDMI and the SP3 DAC process must be very good. It was a revelation.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-06-2018, 03:17 PM
imprezap2's Avatar
imprezap2 imprezap2 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
After Montecito dug out from the mud I finally picked up the DX-5 DSD that had been scheduled to be delivered the day of the flood. I installed it yesterday, but was frustrated because balanced analog and digital BD played fine, but no sound from SACDS. It finally occurred to me that the Bryston SP3 doesn't accept DSD and the previous owner may have used DSD. That was the problem. With the DX-5 DSD sending 24/192 LPCM, the sound with SACDs is spectacular. The DX-5 DSD must send very clean HDMI and the SP3 DAC process must be very good. It was a revelation.
I am pretty sure the DX-5 does not send high res over the digital AES connection (only downsampled signals), do you mean you use the analog outputs ?
__________________
Aavik U-300, Wadia 381i, Ayre DX-5 DSD, Magico V3, Aurender N10, Ansuz Mainz D2
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-06-2018, 03:18 PM
imprezap2's Avatar
imprezap2 imprezap2 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,029
Default

ah ok, you are using the HDMI connection

Have you tried the analog outputs of the Ayre, the internal DAC is not bad at all
__________________
Aavik U-300, Wadia 381i, Ayre DX-5 DSD, Magico V3, Aurender N10, Ansuz Mainz D2
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-07-2018, 06:05 AM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprezap2 View Post
Have you tried the analog outputs of the Ayre, the internal DAC is not bad at all
I use balanced analog and HDMI connections between the DX-5 DSD and Bryston SP3. I initially took balanced analog to a Parasound JC 2 BP, but using the SP3 for both analog and digital seems entirely adequate and makes for a simpler implementation.

I connected a USB cable between the DX-5 DSD and my iMac with the plan to use Roon Bridge, but have yet to implement it. Roon Core runs on a Mac Mini that connects via ethernet to a QX-5 Twenty in another room.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-21-2018, 10:49 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 122
Default

The previous owner of the Ayre DX-5 DSD told me he used an AudioQuest Diamond HDMI cable for the audio connection, and recommended I do so as well. My intellect said bits are bits, my emotion said try it. I found a used 1.5 m Diamond cable for about half the going discounted new price, and I installed it today. Does it make difference? I wouldn’t swear to it. BDs and SACDs sounded great with the Blue Jeans cable, perhaps just a bit more fleshed out and transparent with the Diamond cable. The sound with the Ayre is so superior to that with the Esoteric SA-60 that it swamps my judgement. Charley Hansen was right: It does sound better than my beloved C-5xeMP.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-22-2018, 02:05 PM
imprezap2's Avatar
imprezap2 imprezap2 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,029
Default

So if I understand correctly, you are only using the DX-5 as a transport ?

I have tried many options, but I like the DX-5 best with Cardas Clear XLR cables (analog to the Amplifier), internal DAC and Minimum Phase filter are very good in my opinion. (I have used the DX-5 mostly as an USB DAC for my Aurender streamer)

I might be selling my DX-5 soon, tomorrow I am picking up my new amp (with internal DAC), therefore the DX-5 will not be used much anymore.
__________________
Aavik U-300, Wadia 381i, Ayre DX-5 DSD, Magico V3, Aurender N10, Ansuz Mainz D2
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-22-2018, 03:02 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprezap2 View Post
So if I understand correctly, you are only using the DX-5 as a transport ?

I have tried many options, but I like the DX-5 best with Cardas Clear XLR cables (analog to the Amplifier), internal DAC and Minimum Phase filter are very good in my opinion.
I use the DX-5 DSD as an analog player with Cardas Clear Light XLR cables and as a digital player with Audioquest Diamond HDMI cable. The sound with either configuration is superb, even excelling my revered C-5xeMP, with detailed imaging that can extend beyond beyond the speakers and seemingly behind the projection screen.

db
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-23-2018, 05:02 AM
imprezap2's Avatar
imprezap2 imprezap2 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,029
Default

Ok, you are already using Cardas cables, they work great with Ayre gear.
If you want some extra low frequency energy, try the Clear or Clear beyond XLR cables.
__________________
Aavik U-300, Wadia 381i, Ayre DX-5 DSD, Magico V3, Aurender N10, Ansuz Mainz D2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Follow @AudioAficionado
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2018 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Audeze
Audeze
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase