AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > AudioAficionado News > Technical Info & Troubleshooting

Technical Info & Troubleshooting Learn from the Pro's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:14 PM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,787
Default Troubleshoot - No more sound from amp

I just turned on the Manley Snappers and I heard a sound (like a scratch) from the right speaker. Now there is no more from the right mono block.

I've plugged the speaker on my integrated and it is working so I know that the speaker is not damaged.

On the Manley, all the tubes are glowing but when I check the bias, the reader says 0 (i have 300 on the other block). I've tried with other tube but I still get the same thing.

Do you know what might have happened ?
__________________
Georges
Halgorythme SE1605 - Accuphase C2110 - AD-20 -Directstream DAC - Mac Mini - PS Audio P5
Sonus Faber Elipsa Red
Avid Sequel SP - SME V - Ortofon Cadenza Blue
PC Electra 7 - Speaker WW Silver Eclipse 7 - XLR WW Silver Eclispe 7 - Stillpoints - Digital WW Platinum Eclipse USB
Room treatment by GIK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:16 PM
Jerome W's Avatar
Jerome W Jerome W is online now
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antipop View Post
I just turned on the Manley Snappers and I heard a sound (like a scratch) from the right speaker. Now there is no more from the right mono block.

I've plugged the speaker on my integrated and it is working so I know that the speaker is not damaged.

On the Manley, all the tubes are glowing but when I check the bias, the reader says 0 (i have 300 on the other block). I've tried with other tube but I still get the same thing.

Do you know what might have happened ?
Georges,

You have zero on the bias of one tube only ? And when you try. An other tubein. This position you still have zero ?
With the PSVane's ?

Sent from my iPad using A.Aficionado
__________________
There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats
Albert Schweitzer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:22 PM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,787
Default

Jerome,

I have 0 on all the tubes and it's the same after I installed the Tung Sol instead of the Psvane.

I even switch the 7044 and 12AT7C with the other block (which is working correctly) and still nothing. So it's safe to say that the tube are not the issue here.
__________________
Georges
Halgorythme SE1605 - Accuphase C2110 - AD-20 -Directstream DAC - Mac Mini - PS Audio P5
Sonus Faber Elipsa Red
Avid Sequel SP - SME V - Ortofon Cadenza Blue
PC Electra 7 - Speaker WW Silver Eclipse 7 - XLR WW Silver Eclispe 7 - Stillpoints - Digital WW Platinum Eclipse USB
Room treatment by GIK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:22 PM
Jerome W's Avatar
Jerome W Jerome W is online now
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome W View Post

Georges,

You have zero on the bias of one tube only ? And when you try. An other tubein. This position you still have zero ?
With the PSVane's ?

Sent from my iPad using A.Aficionado
Sorry for the typo : when you try an other tube in this place you still get zero ?

Sent from my iPad using A.Aficionado
__________________
There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats
Albert Schweitzer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:40 PM
magoo's Avatar
magoo magoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 381
Default

Manley Labs - Bias Instructions for Manley Amplifiers

About half way down the page ..."I can't get a bias reading on any of my tubes". We know you were really rocking out with that Def Leppard CD when that happened... So, is your amplifier turned on? Yes of course it is. Lights on but nobody's home. No readout at any of the test points usually indicates the B+ fuse blew. "

Sounds like this could be your issue?
__________________
Technics SL1210 + Jelco 750D + Furutech AG-12, PAB AVF's, Funk Firm Acromat, Zu modified Denon 103/ Whest PS.30RDT / Marantz DAC / Mac Mini/ Pure music, Croft Micro 25R / Manley Snappers; Harbeth P3ESR's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:43 PM
Jerome W's Avatar
Jerome W Jerome W is online now
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magoo View Post
Manley Labs - Bias Instructions for Manley Amplifiers

About half way down the page ..."I can't get a bias reading on any of my tubes". We know you were really rocking out with that Def Leppard CD when that happened... So, is your amplifier turned on? Yes of course it is. Lights on but nobody's home. No readout at any of the test points usually indicates the B+ fuse blew. "

Sounds like this could be your issue?
We talked on the phone with Georges and it really seems that its B+ fuse blew away. Will bring him the replacement fuses this week.
__________________
There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats
Albert Schweitzer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2014, 02:48 PM
magoo's Avatar
magoo magoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 381
Default

Glad to know it's an easy fix now where did I put those spare fuses for mine I wonder !
__________________
Technics SL1210 + Jelco 750D + Furutech AG-12, PAB AVF's, Funk Firm Acromat, Zu modified Denon 103/ Whest PS.30RDT / Marantz DAC / Mac Mini/ Pure music, Croft Micro 25R / Manley Snappers; Harbeth P3ESR's
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2014, 03:04 PM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,787
Default

Thank magoo

I got scared for a minute but Jerome was there to help. I tested the fuse and the resistance is infinite so he was right on the spot.

Now I'm back on the Accuphase and I just feel like there is something missing in the sound. I guess it's good to know that the difference can be heard and I wasn't imagining something
__________________
Georges
Halgorythme SE1605 - Accuphase C2110 - AD-20 -Directstream DAC - Mac Mini - PS Audio P5
Sonus Faber Elipsa Red
Avid Sequel SP - SME V - Ortofon Cadenza Blue
PC Electra 7 - Speaker WW Silver Eclipse 7 - XLR WW Silver Eclispe 7 - Stillpoints - Digital WW Platinum Eclipse USB
Room treatment by GIK
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2014, 03:32 PM
magoo's Avatar
magoo magoo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antipop View Post
Thank magoo

I got scared for a minute but Jerome was there to help. I tested the fuse and the resistance is infinite so he was right on the spot.

Now I'm back on the Accuphase and I just feel like there is something missing in the sound. I guess it's good to know that the difference can be heard and I wasn't imagining something
No problem, & now I have the bookmark should mine go the same way! On a positive note, I've had tube amps for over ten years & that's only ever happened to me once, on a Unison S6, so hopefully you have a nice long trouble free run now!
__________________
Technics SL1210 + Jelco 750D + Furutech AG-12, PAB AVF's, Funk Firm Acromat, Zu modified Denon 103/ Whest PS.30RDT / Marantz DAC / Mac Mini/ Pure music, Croft Micro 25R / Manley Snappers; Harbeth P3ESR's
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2014, 03:44 PM
ronenash's Avatar
ronenash ronenash is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US-NY
Posts: 1,097
Default

When the high voltage fuse fails its usually a bad output tube that's causing this. Better check your tubes.
__________________
ronenash
----------------------------------------------------------
Amps: CJ LP125mSE, Beard P100, CJ ACT2.1 Analog: VPI Classic 1/Blackbird/Lounge phonostage
Thorens TD125mk2/AT1005MK2/103R/Audio Analogue Aria 2.0
Digital: PC-->Meridian Director, Schiit Loki/J.River Speakers: SF Amati Anniversario
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2018 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase