AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Ayre

Ayre A new dimension of musical enjoyment

Old 08-27-2018, 11:04 AM

Default QX-5 Twenty and AX-5 Twenty - Break In Each Output/ Input?

Here is a question for Ryan,

I have a QX-5 and AX-5 Twenty I have been running for about two years. I have been using ONLY the single ended outputs and inputs.

I am auditioning BALANCED cables. The question is, do the two units require additional break-in on the balanced output on QX and balanced input on AX because those sets of outputs/inputs have never been used? I am talking about less than 5 hours on those inputs and outputs. Does each connection require break-in to reach full performance?

Thanks!
Old 08-27-2018, 11:21 AM

According to Ayre, every input and even every volume setting has to be seperately broken in.
Old 08-30-2018, 02:24 AM
Industry Affiliation - Ayre CEO

Full potential? Yes, unfortunately. The break-in process is pretty closely tied to the dielectrics in a number of the components as well as the PCB material. We've found the material we select can have a pretty big effect on the amount of break-in time required, though it seems the longer the time needed, the better the product sounds in the end (that seems to be the way with all things, doesn't it?) At any rate, because we use different components for each input instead of simply tying them all together, there's separate signal paths and components involved for all inputs and outputs.