AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > AudioAficionado News > Member System Forum

Member System Forum System Pictures and Descriptions

Old 03-10-2014, 04:14 PM

Default LIVESTRONG's Music Room - A Journey

Preview: LIVESTRONG's Music Room - A Journey

Welcome! I'll keep this intro short and sweet: My name is JD - I am music lover and budding audiophile with so much to learn.
Since a lot of people ask me, I've been using the name LIVESTRONG for nearly 10 years now - it started when my late grandfather was diagnosed with cancer and I've hung on to it ever since - I like the reminder of how to live and the memories I have of my grandfather.

I'm new here to AA, but I've been keeping a journal of sorts and I wanted to start a thread here to share my audio journey. I will begin by posting the first 14 pre-written chapters and continue to add to them as time goes on. I will always keep a picture of my current setup in this first post - please read on to find out where I've been and I hope you continue to come back

My current setup:

Old 03-10-2014, 04:14 PM

Chapter 1: Getting Started

Like so many others on this forum, I first became obsessed with turntables and vinyl. Despite the lack of Pro-Ject love here, I picked up the Pro-Ject Debut III as my first table. I live in Minnesota so the Needle Doctor store is almost as close as their website :thmbsp: I loved the Pro-Ject and had plans of eventually upgrading with the Speed Box & Acrylic platter...

Here is my first setup back in 2011...

And a shot of the Pro-Ject Debut III turntable

…then a different kind of “project” table landed at my house. It was a Dual 1009 F (circa 1968) that I got from the original owner – complete with original boxes, manuals, and set up instructions.

Dual 1009F turntable

I tried my hand at getting it fully functional and failed so then I bought a couple Yamaha's...

Yamaha YP-B4 turntable and Yamaha YP-D4 turntable