AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Bryston Audio

Bryston Audio Unlimited, Unprecedented, Unequalled

Old 12-25-2017, 02:44 AM

Default SP-3 with headphones?

Hi all--I'm just learning about and getting into headphones. I'd like to know if anyone who uses headphones a lot can tell me about the headphone output on the SP-3. What are the specs? Impedance, output voltage, etc?

How does it compare to a decent dedicated headphone amp.

I have an SP-3 and a middling pair of Audio-Technica somethings, and I'd like to upgrade, but before I spend a fortune on headphones, I'd like to have an idea of the quality of the source I'm using them with.

My source is a BDP-1, plus a MacBook Pro running Tidal and Roon.

Do any of you owners of the SP-3 use them with headphones? Have you compared them on anything else? Please let me know.

Oh, and Merry Christmas!!
Old 12-25-2017, 11:45 AM

If you email James or Mike @ Bryston they’ll get back to you quickly. They have some of the best customer service on the industry
Old 12-25-2017, 12:06 PM

Dave, yes, Bryston should be able to help with specs but it is unlikely for Bryston to include a very high quality headphone out section in a product like SP=3. They make the BHA-1 for that purpose.

That doesn't mean it is totally useless! I am sure it will drive virtually any headphone (lower impedance and higher sensitivity much better) but of course you will get better results with a dedicated headphone amp. Nothing wrong with getting started with the SP-3 and if you find the headphone listening experience is something you will enjoy and want to invest more $$$ into, well, that's another topic for our "Headphones, Personal listening" sub forum here on AA. Come on over and we will help you spend some $$$.
Old 12-25-2017, 12:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by phishphan View Post