AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > ModWright Instruments

ModWright Instruments Elegance. Simplicity. Truth.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-20-2017, 11:38 PM
JJinID's Avatar
JJinID JJinID is online now
The Architect


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scenic Idaho
Posts: 2,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan_DR3 View Post
The LS100 phono is that good huh? What will you do for a phono stage now?
Yeah it is. IMO the best part of the LS100 is the tube based phono pre module, and it's interesting that Dan went with a lesser expensive solid state optional phono stage for his SWL 9.0 Anniversary Edition preamp.

I've been getting by with borrowing a Nova Phonomona II off and on which does sound pretty darn good for a low cost unit. Later this year ModWright will be releasing a lesser expensive (compared to his high end PH150) standalone phono preamp and I will plan on auditioning that in my system when released.
__________________
McIntosh MC501s, XRT29s, XR27, WS350s
Denon AVR-A100
JL Audio F113s + CR-1 Crossover
ModWright Oppo BDP-105 w/Signature Truth Tube Modifications
Denon DP-62L w/Ortofon 2M Black; Musical Surroundings Phonomena II+
Bolder Cables modified Squeezebox Touch
ASC & RealTraps Panels; APS PurePower 2000; Daedalus Audio DiDs
LAT International and WyWires Cables
EVALUATION: ModWright LS 36.5 line stage
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-22-2017, 10:44 AM
Stefan_DR3's Avatar
Stefan_DR3 Stefan_DR3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Default

^ I may have to go down the same road. I was looking at the LS100 but discovered that it is too deep (17.5") to fit on my shelf.

The 36.5 is 5" less deep (12.5")! That's more like a Bryston - the other preamp I'm looking at.
__________________
Anthem, Sonic Frontiers & Bryston user.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-24-2017, 11:05 AM
Stefan_DR3's Avatar
Stefan_DR3 Stefan_DR3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Default

Question: when the unit is powered off, how does the bypass work with the balanced output if the ht bypass input is s/e?
__________________
Anthem, Sonic Frontiers & Bryston user.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-25-2017, 08:26 PM
Stefan_DR3's Avatar
Stefan_DR3 Stefan_DR3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJinID View Post
I also like that I can run the HT bypass without having the unit turned on and running the tubes.
Interesting. Does the HTBP work through the balanced outputs when the unit is off?
__________________
Anthem, Sonic Frontiers & Bryston user.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-26-2017, 11:54 AM
JJinID's Avatar
JJinID JJinID is online now
The Architect


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scenic Idaho
Posts: 2,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan_DR3 View Post
Question: when the unit is powered off, how does the bypass work with the balanced output if the ht bypass input is s/e?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan_DR3 View Post
Interesting. Does the HTBP work through the balanced outputs when the unit is off?
Yes the HTBP does work through the balanced outputs when the unit is off. I believe this works because the signal is fed through output transformers that convert all single ended inputs to balanced. It works great and the fact that it can do this is one of the best features of the unit as you are not burning tube life when watching HT.
__________________
McIntosh MC501s, XRT29s, XR27, WS350s
Denon AVR-A100
JL Audio F113s + CR-1 Crossover
ModWright Oppo BDP-105 w/Signature Truth Tube Modifications
Denon DP-62L w/Ortofon 2M Black; Musical Surroundings Phonomena II+
Bolder Cables modified Squeezebox Touch
ASC & RealTraps Panels; APS PurePower 2000; Daedalus Audio DiDs
LAT International and WyWires Cables
EVALUATION: ModWright LS 36.5 line stage
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-27-2017, 09:16 PM
Stefan_DR3's Avatar
Stefan_DR3 Stefan_DR3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJinID View Post
Yes the HTBP does work through the balanced outputs when the unit is off. I believe this works because the signal is fed through output transformers that convert all single ended inputs to balanced. It works great and the fact that it can do this is one of the best features of the unit as you are not burning tube life when watching HT.
Transformers - that makes sense. What a brilliant design.
__________________
Anthem, Sonic Frontiers & Bryston user.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Follow @AudioAficionado
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2017 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Sound Anchors
Sound Anchors
Audeze
Audeze
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Wyred 4 Sound
Wyred 4 Sound
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase