AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Turntables & Vinyl > Turntables & Tonearms

Turntables & Tonearms Where Analog still Rules

Old 01-04-2012, 08:24 PM

Default 45 rpm...

do you think vinyl is going to be mostly 45 RPM in the future? I know there is lots of 33 around. But...
Old 01-04-2012, 09:19 PM

I dislike having to flip the record over every three songs, but who knows. The LP play quality at 45 is usually really good from my experience.
Old 01-04-2012, 10:07 PM
Vinyl, Baby!

I think we will continue to see both. I collect both 33 & 45. I have a subscription to the 45 RPM Verve reissues from Acoustic Sounds, but they are $50 each. I think theRe is a limited market for these when there are still great albums coming out on 33, such as the excellent Speakers Corner albums at $30 or so. At the lower end, everything will continue to be 33 RPM.
Old 01-04-2012, 10:27 PM
Music Lover

Are 45's for the younger generation? I have noticed them selling at the local record stores but i didn't recognize any of the bands thus leading me to believe they are coming back for the younger people. Am i wrong?
I have a stack and have never used them. LoopForFun, you mentioned that you hate changing sides every three songs. I thought they only have one song per side. Have things changed?
Mcintosh MC205,MX150,MS300,MVP871,Pioneer BDP-51FD,Roku,Pioneer Signature Elite 141,Furman It-Reference15,Sonus Faber Cremonas
Two Channel Room
Mcintosh MC501's,C2300,MCD500, ClearAudio Emotion TT,Furman It-Reference15,Sonus Faber Elipsas,Sonos Connect
Old 01-04-2012, 10:36 PM
Vinyl, Baby!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rilands View Post
Are 45's for the younger generation? I have noticed them selling at the local record stores but i didn't recognize any of the bands thus leading me to believe they are coming back for the younger people. Am i wrong?