AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Shunyata Research

Shunyata Research Designing Silent Systems for recording, film and music

Old 08-15-2016, 04:25 PM

Default Shunyata Hydra - audible improvement to the system?

Hi - I`m thinking about a Hydra for my components. I have no experience with power distributors at all. How is your experience - is it a nice "gimmick" for our hobby (and we`re all a little crazy after all) or is it a real audible improvement?

If so - what would you compare it with when talking "measurable improvement".

Thanx all
Old 08-15-2016, 09:38 PM

You're likely to be buried by comments on the benefits of power conditioners, so here's the short version.

Lots of companies have shown electrical measurements that demonstrate reduced distortion(s) or increased power response transients. Do these measurements apply to what you hear? We suspect so, but it is not a given. Your best bet, and the one to rely upon, is to try it and listen for yourself. Many have found Shunyata to be very responsive and helpful to their customers, so you've definitely picked a great forum to start. Recommend you let Shunyata know what you have and try what they suggest. The sonic benefits will become clear.
Old 08-16-2016, 01:33 AM

Sounds promising!

I think I`ll try to get a hold on a Hydra and see - just thought it`d be helpful to get a few reactions from this forum first.

Last edited by bruno2009; 08-16-2016 at 01:44 AM.
Old 08-16-2016, 10:05 AM

I love my Shnuyata gear. The improvement from the power conditioners alone is equal to, or better, than a gear upgrade. Be sure to get dedicated power lines for amps and source.

---------------------------------------------
Lumin S1
Sony XA5400ES SACD
Pass XP-20 pre, X600.5 amps
Magico S5 speakers

Shunyata Triton v2/Typhon for source, Cyclops v2 (2) for amps
Shunyata Z Anaconda XLR analog ICs, Z Anaconda speaker cables