AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > The Lounge > General Audio Discussion

General Audio Discussion All other Audio Q & A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:42 PM
Still-One's Avatar
Still-One Still-One is online now
It is turned down!!!!


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 31,548
Default

Yep. This one.

TRENDnet 5-Port Unmanaged Gigabit GREENnet Desktop Metal Housing Switch, 10 Gbps , TEG-S50g

I do have on had a TRENDnet TEG-S51SFP that has a optical connection that I will be trying after Small Green Computer release their Optical Module hopefully this month.
__________________
Jim

AMP's: Momentum M-400's
Pre-amp: D'Agostino Momentum HD
Digital:dCS Vivaldi DAC, Clock & Upsampler
Analog:SME 20/3 , Esoteric E-03, Benz Ruby
Speakers: Wilson Alexandria X2 Series 2
Cables: Transparent Opus Speaker & Interconnects & Power Cords
Cables on Digital Shunyata
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-13-2019, 02:35 PM
Projectman's Avatar
Projectman Projectman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAPHANA View Post
My home setup includes 1 Orbi router and 4 satellites. Yes it works, even though the iPhone app can only display 3 satellites in graphical mode.

One of my orbi satellites is used for the exact same purpose: ethernet connection for PS Audio DAC. No issues with DAC, but it has interference to turn table nearby, so I switch the satellite off when playing vinyls.
My guess would be the Orbi wall wart is causing your turntable interference. Try a Keces or other Linear power supply to replace the wall wart.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-13-2019, 02:38 PM
Projectman's Avatar
Projectman Projectman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still-One View Post
RC Just like you I have several devices scattered around the house that require direct ethernet connections and I assumed that with four available ports on the back of the Orbi Router and each satellite that this would a fine solution to replace the outdated Apple network I had been using. This was not the case.

I will try and keep this short. First Netgear free support only lasts for 90 days and in general is the worst support I have ever received with any product. My second round of issues came shortly after the 90 day period and I had to pay about $90 for a six month extension and this support was also poor and I never did get their second level support team to return my call even after receiving several promises for that call.

To summarize, any "direct" connections of audio components (sonicTransporter i5, dCS Upsampler, Meridian MS200, a one day trial of a PC) to the ports on main router or satellite would not be stable. Lost connections of regular dropouts. What initially fixed this from a suggestion by Andrew of Small Green Computer to was add TrendNET unmanaged switches between the devices and the attached audio gear I noted above. This fixed that problem. Why this was necessary fell on deaf ears at Netgear support.

The last issue was when I tried to insert a GigaFoil v4, a Audioquest Diamond ethernet cable and then a Keces LPS for the GigaFOIL. I won't go into all of the actions I took to eliminate constant dropouts with these devices sitting between the switch upstairs and my dCS Upsampler in the two channel room. In the end all dropouts have stopped with the devices out of the loop. No improvement in SQ was worth the hassle of dropouts.

My suggestion is if you are going with the Orbi mesh network you will need to add one or more TrendNeT unmanaged switches between the Orbi ports and your devices. I say TrendNET because I tried a TPLINK device while awaiting the delivery of the TrendNet switches as suggested by Andrew and that did not address my problems.
I have an Orbi with satellite and have a PS Audio Directstream DAC and Memory Player connected as well as a Lumin U1 and a Lumin L1 5TB NAS all connected to the Orbi satellite. No dropouts or issues ever.

Works perfect for me.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-13-2019, 05:08 PM
Still-One's Avatar
Still-One Still-One is online now
It is turned down!!!!


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 31,548
Default

I recently switched from the TrendNet TEG-s50g to the TrendNet TEG-S51SFP. This allowed me to have a long run of fiber optic cable between my switch and the opticaModule that sits just in front of my dCS Upsampler. A very nice improvement.
__________________
Jim

AMP's: Momentum M-400's
Pre-amp: D'Agostino Momentum HD
Digital:dCS Vivaldi DAC, Clock & Upsampler
Analog:SME 20/3 , Esoteric E-03, Benz Ruby
Speakers: Wilson Alexandria X2 Series 2
Cables: Transparent Opus Speaker & Interconnects & Power Cords
Cables on Digital Shunyata
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2019 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase