AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Pre-Amps & Amplifiers

Pre-Amps & Amplifiers All Brands Welcome

Old 07-18-2016, 04:04 AM

Default A preamp to match Gryphon Mephisto

Looking for A preamp to match Gryphon Mephisto.
I have been using ARC Ref40 with Gryphon Mephisto for a few years. Always addicted to tube somewhere in the chain. During 5 years in service of Ref40 I have experienced sound quality to Go up and down according to tubes usage. This is what I want to avoid Now, I have less time, I want something to sound consistently good for many Years to come. Next preamp has to be solid state that's the goal. I like the design of ARC Ref6, the Ref10 replacement must be really good, but hey it will come with So many tubes.

A few years back, I bring Gryphon Pandora home to pair with Mephisto, the great disadvantage was that it required two of same power cords, I had in pair only RSA HZ at that time. Compared to ARC Ref40 Pandora was leaner and thinner in the midband Bass was stronger and tighter. With such a solid state sounding midband I returned to Ref40 in a short time.

Now time for new preamp is coming. Based on past experience with Pandora A few years back, I was looking for something else this time. I should have been Soulution 725. But it doesn't have 3 XLR and one of which to be theater bypass mode. Then the next in mind are Burmester 808Mk5 or 077 with EXT PS. But due to unusual Electrical characteristic of Burmester power amp (low input Z, very high gain) , I doubt its preamp will work well with my Mephisto. Also Burmester 077 has unusually high Output Z for solid state device. But still, I would love to hear them with Mephisto.