AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > McIntosh Audio

McIntosh Audio A Tradition of Excellence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2018, 06:35 PM
joey_corleone joey_corleone is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
Default d1100/c1100 integration

Hello friends,

I pulled the trigger on a new d1100! Seems, they are back ordered for a few weeks from mother base in upstate NY, but I figured while I was waiting I would start getting things setup and get comfortable with the documentation

I already own a c1100 pre-amp, and of course will be integrating it with the d1100. I have a few simple questions that are not really covered explicitly in the manual

1) Input control - How does one use the c1100 to control the input being selected on the d1100? It just sort of says that this happens. For example, say I have a CD player going to the d1100 using optical 1 and a computer going to the USB input. The d1100 itself is connected to the c1100 on balanced6 as explained in the guide, and also connected to the c1100 with the special control cable. How does one control if the d1100 is on the optical1 input or the USB input from the c1100?

I am *guessing* that when you cycle through the inputs using the c1100 front panel or remote, it will simply start cycling through the inputs on the d1100 as well, but I really have no idea. Do I still have to select balanced6 on the c1100? What about the c1100 display? When you are using the d1100, what does the c1100 display look like?

2) I currently don't use balanced input 6 on my c1100 so it is set to "off". Do I need to go in and manually turn it back "on" in preparation for my new d1100?

3) The manual states that when you use the d1100 as a DAC, it will power on with the pre-amp. Is this regardless of input selected on the c1100? For example, if I am playing a record and have the MC phono input selected, does the d1100 still come on? Also, do I still need to connect the d1100 itself to AC power, or does it draw power from the c1100 over the proprietary cable link?

4) Meters - If I shut off the meters on the c1100, will the meters go off on the d1100 also?

5) I read there were some early firmware issues and that the c1100 and d1100 should be on the latest. My c1100 is running v2.01. Anybody know what the latest c1100 code is, and what the latest d1100 firmware is? I also asked the dealer to make sure the d1100 has the latest firmware when it arrives.

6) I recently switched my digital front end software to roon. I have a roon core setup on a server, and use a raspberry pi 2b that runs roon bridge. I had this connected via USB to a Bryston BDA-3 and it was working beautifully. I was just wondering if anybody else is using the d1100 USB input with a linux based USB source and if it is working OK for you without any messing around

Thanks guys!
__________________
Rega RP10 - Oppo 103 - Bryston BDA-3 - McIntosh c1100 - McIntosh MC601's - Focal 1038BE

Last edited by joey_corleone; 01-09-2018 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 11:27 AM
j3brow's Avatar
j3brow j3brow is online now
The All Encompassing Trip


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 2,799
Default d1100/c1100 integration

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey_corleone View Post
Hello friends,

I pulled the trigger on a new d1100! Seems, they are back ordered for a few weeks from mother base in upstate NY, but I figured while I was waiting I would start getting things setup and get comfortable with the documentation

I already own a c1100 pre-amp, and of course will be integrating it with the d1100. I have a few simple questions that are not really covered explicitly in the manual

1) Input control - How does one use the c1100 to control the input being selected on the d1100? It just sort of says that this happens. For example, say I have a CD player going to the d1100 using optical 1 and a computer going to the USB input. The d1100 itself is connected to the c1100 on balanced6 as explained in the guide, and also connected to the c1100 with the special control cable. How does one control if the d1100 is on the optical1 input or the USB input from the c1100?

I am *guessing* that when you cycle through the inputs using the c1100 front panel or remote, it will simply start cycling through the inputs on the d1100 as well, but I really have no idea. Do I still have to select balanced6 on the c1100? What about the c1100 display? When you are using the d1100, what does the c1100 display look like?

2) I currently don't use balanced input 6 on my c1100 so it is set to "off". Do I need to go in and manually turn it back "on" in preparation for my new d1100?

3) The manual states that when you use the d1100 as a DAC, it will power on with the pre-amp. Is this regardless of input selected on the c1100? For example, if I am playing a record and have the MC phono input selected, does the d1100 still come on? Also, do I still need to connect the d1100 itself to AC power, or does it draw power from the c1100 over the proprietary cable link?

4) Meters - If I shut off the meters on the c1100, will the meters go off on the d1100 also?

5) I read there were some early firmware issues and that the c1100 and d1100 should be on the latest. My c1100 is running v2.01. Anybody know what the latest c1100 code is, and what the latest d1100 firmware is? I also asked the dealer to make sure the d1100 has the latest firmware when it arrives.

6) I recently switched my digital front end software to roon. I have a roon core setup on a server, and use a raspberry pi 2b that runs roon bridge. I had this connected via USB to a Bryston BDA-3 and it was working beautifully. I was just wondering if anybody else is using the d1100 USB input with a linux based USB source and if it is working OK for you without any messing around

Thanks guys!


Congrats! It’s a wonderful combo.


1) you guessed right. All 9 of the D1100 digital inputs will cycle across the C1100 display as you scroll through your C1100 inputs. I have not tried to figure out how to remove the inputs that I don’t use. You don’t “select” balanced input 6, the C1100 automatically senses the D1100 and the digital inputs are already labeled as you scroll your inputs. The C1100 display looks the same as with other inputs. The digital sample rate will be displayed on the D1100.

2) I would certainly think so

3) yes, regardless of input. If your C1100 is turned on, the D1100 will turn on. When C1100 is turned off, the D1100 will turn off. Yes, the D1100 must be connected to power via its IEC power cord. No power flows through the special DIN cable, it is for control only.

4) yes.

5) Re: C1100, 2.01 is what I am running. I have not heard of another update for the C1100. The D1100 should come with the latest firmware which has been updated since I bought mine last February which fixes a bug regarding 192 files (the display flickers when a 192 file plays on my original firmware). I don’t know the number/version of latest D1100 firmware. Let us know which one your factory fresh D1100 is running when it shows up.

6) there very well may be some messing around. my aurender N10, I believe, is Linux based. There are issues with USB handshake with the D1100. I almost always use the XLR and coaxial connections between my N10 and D1100. The sequence of events regarding selecting usb as the digital input and turning on/off computer and D1100 will dictate how smooth the handshake works. Last couple times I tried to use my usb, the D1100 didn’t see any signal but the XLR and coaxial had no issues. I have to believe the N10 is appropriately sending digital signal out over all its various outputs at all times and it is the D1100 having the issue. Usually, if I manually turn the D1100 off after I realize it’s not picking up the usb, then manually turn D1100 back on, the usb signal is very quickly recognized (display screen now shows the sample rate).
__________________

Preamp: McIntosh C1100T/C1100C
Amp: McIntosh MC601 (2)
Digital: McIntosh D1100, McIntosh MCT450, Meridian 808v6, Aurender N10 8TB
Analog: Rega RP10 w/ Apheta 2
Signal cables: Wireworld Gold Eclipse 7 speaker cables; Transparent Ref XL (MM2) interconnects
Digital cables: Wireworld Platinum 7 Coax, AES/EBU, and USB
Power: Shunyata Denali, Alpha HC, Furutech outlets, (3) 20 amp dedicated lines
Speakers: Dynaudio Contour 30
Rack: Quadraspire SVT2 with Nordost Sort Fut (6)

Last edited by j3brow; 01-10-2018 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 10:29 PM
joey_corleone joey_corleone is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
Default

Thanks so much for the detailed response! I sure hope the USB works OK because that is the only input I plan on using.

I read in the book that if you manually turn the d1100 off and on using the power button that it comes back on in pre-amp mode not DAC mode. If power cycling the DAC just to get USB to work becomes routine like it was on the c2500 that is going to suck bad.

Question for you - When you have your c1100 on and connected to the d1100, and cycle through your inputs, does “balanced 6” still show up or no?
__________________
Rega RP10 - Oppo 103 - Bryston BDA-3 - McIntosh c1100 - McIntosh MC601's - Focal 1038BE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 01:35 PM
j3brow's Avatar
j3brow j3brow is online now
The All Encompassing Trip


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 2,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey_corleone View Post
Thanks so much for the detailed response! I sure hope the USB works OK because that is the only input I plan on using.



I read in the book that if you manually turn the d1100 off and on using the power button that it comes back on in pre-amp mode not DAC mode. If power cycling the DAC just to get USB to work becomes routine like it was on the c2500 that is going to suck bad.



Question for you - When you have your c1100 on and connected to the d1100, and cycle through your inputs, does “balanced 6” still show up or no?


No, “balanced 6” does not show up as a separate input when cycling through.

Just yesterday, my usb worked perfectly, as it typically does, although I have experienced what I described a handful of times. Being that usb is your sole source, I imagine it will lock on all the time. I switch mine a lot but now usually use coax or aes, just because.

I have to say, the D1100 USB input gives up VERY little, if ANYTHING, to the aes and coaxial inputs. The usb is very well done.
__________________

Preamp: McIntosh C1100T/C1100C
Amp: McIntosh MC601 (2)
Digital: McIntosh D1100, McIntosh MCT450, Meridian 808v6, Aurender N10 8TB
Analog: Rega RP10 w/ Apheta 2
Signal cables: Wireworld Gold Eclipse 7 speaker cables; Transparent Ref XL (MM2) interconnects
Digital cables: Wireworld Platinum 7 Coax, AES/EBU, and USB
Power: Shunyata Denali, Alpha HC, Furutech outlets, (3) 20 amp dedicated lines
Speakers: Dynaudio Contour 30
Rack: Quadraspire SVT2 with Nordost Sort Fut (6)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2018, 12:47 AM
joey_corleone joey_corleone is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j3brow View Post
No, “balanced 6” does not show up as a separate input when cycling through.

Just yesterday, my usb worked perfectly, as it typically does, although I have experienced what I described a handful of times. Being that usb is your sole source, I imagine it will lock on all the time. I switch mine a lot but now usually use coax or aes, just because.

I have to say, the D1100 USB input gives up VERY little, if ANYTHING, to the aes and coaxial inputs. The usb is very well done.
Thanks! I play a fair amount of DSD files ripped from my SACDs, so USB is going to be key for me. Knowing straight away that McIntosh will only officially support JRiver running on a Mac or Windows machine has me a little worried. I have a roon core server, multiple roon remote's, and a raspberry pi 2b running roon bridge that I plan to interface directly with the d1100. This worked flawlessly on the Bryston BDA-3 I just sold to help fund the d1100.

Hope it works well!
__________________
Rega RP10 - Oppo 103 - Bryston BDA-3 - McIntosh c1100 - McIntosh MC601's - Focal 1038BE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2018, 02:35 PM
JBT JBT is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lago Vista Texas Downtown Austin and Frisco Colorado
Posts: 1,217
Default

Read this post and comments. The Roon labs guy comments


https://www.computeraudiophile.com/f...1100-question/



And then the follow up


https://www.computeraudiophile.com/c...C2%A0two-r667/
__________________
2 MC2102 Mono Bridged, C2200 Frank Gow Edition, MCD 500, MDA 1000, MR 71, Sonos, Vandersteen 5A

Old stuff

Fisher 800C Receiver

Vintage Mcintosh MC275 and C22

Audio Research d-150
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2018, 02:47 PM
joey_corleone joey_corleone is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBT View Post
Read this post and comments. The Roon labs guy comments


https://www.computeraudiophile.com/f...1100-question/



And then the follow up


https://www.computeraudiophile.com/c...C2%A0two-r667/
Yeah, I had found that review right away during my searches. It's great and all, but the reviewer is in fact using Windows with JRiver. I will be using a roon remote to control a roon core that streams the files to a roon bridge running on a raspberry pi with dietpi on it. Hoping that will work well also
__________________
Rega RP10 - Oppo 103 - Bryston BDA-3 - McIntosh c1100 - McIntosh MC601's - Focal 1038BE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:24 PM
JBT JBT is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lago Vista Texas Downtown Austin and Frisco Colorado
Posts: 1,217
Default

But dannyroonlabs says.

didn't see this until just now... according to Brian, the fix for that D1100 issue went out a while ago.


That tells me the problem was with Roon and now they've fixed it.
__________________
2 MC2102 Mono Bridged, C2200 Frank Gow Edition, MCD 500, MDA 1000, MR 71, Sonos, Vandersteen 5A

Old stuff

Fisher 800C Receiver

Vintage Mcintosh MC275 and C22

Audio Research d-150
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:30 PM
JBT JBT is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lago Vista Texas Downtown Austin and Frisco Colorado
Posts: 1,217
Default

I would contract ROON and ask them.
__________________
2 MC2102 Mono Bridged, C2200 Frank Gow Edition, MCD 500, MDA 1000, MR 71, Sonos, Vandersteen 5A

Old stuff

Fisher 800C Receiver

Vintage Mcintosh MC275 and C22

Audio Research d-150
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.

Follow @AudioAficionado
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2017 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Sound Anchors
Sound Anchors
Audeze
Audeze
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase