AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Tannoy Speakers

Tannoy Speakers Over 80 Years of Audio Invention

Old 09-20-2016, 05:38 PM

Default Tannoy GRF 90

I was very lucky to get a pair of this beautiful creation.

It sound supersmooth, but could have more "punch" in my opinion. Its totally another animal than my previous Klipsch Cornwall III that played with "hornynes" and balls.

But the GRF got something special... Im pretty new to the dual concentric driver, so have to give it some burnin time. Hope it gets more "open", the bass goes very very low.

Sensibility on 95db vs 102 from the Cornwall shows on my Accuphase meters :P.

Anyone other having this speakers, or have heard them?

Old 09-20-2016, 11:57 PM

They look awesome! Your system looks fantastic!!

It takes time for the dual concentric drivers to 'bed in' and start to produce decent base.

Having read a number of Japanese Audio blogs on Tannoys (the joy of employing a fluent Japanese speaker- sadly now left the country & touring Korea) they all say it takes up to 500 hours at decent volumes to get Tannoys doing bass.

In fact, some commentators have stated that some Japanese owners of big Tannoys NEVER fully run them in due to the speakers being 'shoehorned' into small apartments. and only played as low to moderate levels- hell I crank up my Tannoys all the time- 15" drivers can energize a room!

Having recently returned from Japan, I can testify to the small roomed apartments that large numbers of Japanese Audiophiles live in.

I recently rewired and up-dated the speaker binding posts on my 20 year old Tannoy Canterburys & it took a good 100 hours to get the deep base back.

I also placed my Tannoys on Granite Plinths which vastly improved the bass as the front heavy Canterburys were sinking into the carpet. See this thread http://www.audioaficionado.org/tanno...e-plinths.html