AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > McIntosh Audio

McIntosh Audio A Tradition of Excellence

Old 07-22-2020, 08:59 PM

Default C22 and Headphones?

I'm a headphone noob--or trying to be. My system is in our living room, which has been fine except with all of us in the house all the time practicing social distancing...

I tried a pair of Focal Utopias--they were very good, but they didn't light me up, and for $5K or so, I think they should. But I have been wondering if things would be different if I had a dedicated headphone amp instead of plugging into the front of my C22. Is there a headphone amp in the C22, or some suboptimal solution? If I should get a dedicated headphone amp, how much might I need to spend to pair with the Utopias or something in a similar price range? Thanks
Old 07-23-2020, 09:21 AM

I don't have first-hand experience with the C22, but I can offer some general advice.

First, the headphone jack on many components is nothing but an afterthought. That's not the case with McIntosh but, regardless, it's not likely to be the equal of the best dedicated headphone amplifiers. If you want the best headphone performance, you'll need a dedicated headphone amp, imo.

Because you're a self-acknowledged headphone noob, why not continue to use your C22 and experiment with some relatively "budget" cans? You might be surprised! A modestly priced Grado or Senneheiser might suffice.

One reason I suggest starting at the low end is that listening to headphones is an entirely different experience than listening to speakers. Some listeners never warm up to headphones - regardless of price. Yet a modest set of cans might be enough to help you decide if further expense is worthwhile.