AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Remote Control

Remote Control Power is Nothing without Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-23-2013, 11:20 AM
The Attorney The Attorney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fastdriving View Post
I have a Galaxy S4 phone, it has IR built into it...I wonder if any of the apps out there are good for it.
I also have an S4 and I've been looking for apps that can rival my old Harmony 885. The app that comes closest is the TouchSquid (2 versions, the Pro version has Macro support, which I can't decide if I need). It is Activity driven, like the Harmony.

My most important criteria is that I want to be able to configure exactly what buttons go where on the primary screen. The TouchSquid seems to do this, but I haven't actually tried it. It even has a default profile specifically for the S4, which is not quite the button arrangement I'm after, but ok as long as I can change it.

At a lower price, the Smart IR seems ok, but not as configurable.

Last edited by The Attorney; 12-23-2013 at 11:22 AM. Reason: punctuation correction
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2014, 01:35 AM
Newshoundaussie Newshoundaussie is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonmb View Post
I've been using the Harmony Smart Control on one of my systems. It includes an IR blaster that sits in my equipment rack and an iOS app that works pretty well to control everything over wifi. There's also a basic small handheld remote as backup. I know there are not a lot of Harmony fans here, but for $130 it seems to work pretty well.
Harmony Smart Control - Remote for iPad, iPhone & Android - Logitech
I have been using the harmony ultimate with my iPad works great.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:11 AM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

What about the Harmony app from the app store? I'm a Harmony 1000 user myself and will soon be using a iPad to control a Bryston BDP-2 that I plan on purchasing later this year and I just stumbled onto this app today while doing a web search.

Is anyone familiar with the apple Harmony app? Is it as capable as the 1000/1100 remotes were? i.e.controlling as many devices at a time, macro support, etc. You certainly get a much larger screen by running it from a iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:31 AM
Antonmb's Avatar
Antonmb Antonmb is offline
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northwest Washington (Mt Baker foothills)
Posts: 6,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod#S View Post
What about the Harmony app from the app store? I'm a Harmony 1000 user myself and will soon be using a iPad to control a Bryston BDP-2 that I plan on purchasing later this year and I just stumbled onto this app today while doing a web search. Is anyone familiar with the apple Harmony app? Is it as capable as the 1000/1100 remotes were? i.e.controlling as many devices at a time, macro support, etc. You certainly get a much larger screen by running it from a iPad.
when used with a Harmony hub, it works well. I control two different rooms, each with different av setups, and with Bluray, Directv, Roku, Apple TV and AVR. I tend to use the handheld remote more, simply because it's easy to leave on the arm of my chair and grab for quick volume or channel changes, but the app will certainly do it all including full on and off sequences, switching automatically between sources, etc.
__________________
Tony
"Have you seen the stars tonight?"
________________________________
Main system: Linn Klimax Katalyst DSM; D’Agostino Momentum S250 amp & HD preamp; Rega RP10 w/Rega Aphelion; Boulder 508; Sonus Faber Amati Futura; Shunyata Denali 6000T, Alpha NR & EF power, Ztron Cobra IC & SC; Quadraspire Sunoko-Vent T, ISOAcoustics Orea footers, HRS Damping Plates; SonicTransporter i7 & Synology DS412+; Audio Desk Pro
Personal audio: Woo Audio WA6, WA7 & WA8; Auralic Aries Mini, Sonore MicroRendu & UltraRendu, A&K AK100 II, AKG Q701, Shure SE535, Shure SH1540, Westone ES50 Custom, Sennheiser HD800, MrSpeakers Aeon Flow C, Various Moon Audio dragons
2nd system: Luxman SQ-N100, PSB Imagine Mini, REL T-5, refurbished AR XA w/Nagaoka MP-200 & VPI cabling, Linn Klimax DSM Renew, Shunyata Venom PS8 w/Defender & Viper, Nordost Blue Heaven power & IC, Acoustic Zen sc, Symposium Svelte Shelves
Workshop: Vintage Yamaha CA-1010 amp & CT-1010 tuner, Martin Logan Motion 4, Squeezebox Touch, Schiit BiFrost, AZ & WW cables
Video: Sony XBR65X850C; Apple TV-4; Vienna Acoustics Schönberg L/R, Webern center & surrounds; REL T1/T2/T3 subs; Arcam AVR850; Cambridge Audio 752BD; MIT-EXP SC
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:35 AM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

hmm, this sounds promising then. So what's the deal with this Harmony Hub product you mention, is that necessary as a companion for the app or can one accomplish all they need with just an iPad and the app?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2015, 02:12 PM
o0OBillO0o o0OBillO0o is offline
Rebellious!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Massachusetts!
Posts: 5,171
Default

Yes, you need the Hub.

I use Harmony App and it works well. iRule was just plain miserable.

Note: I use both the hand held remote and iPad

CNET Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JlpDSlpvguY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccSQYFiMIHU

Last edited by o0OBillO0o; 01-20-2015 at 02:19 PM. Reason: note & review link
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-20-2015, 07:24 PM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

Thanks

I just downloaded the app and like you mention you can't even perform any initial setup without 1st connecting to the hub. I was hoping I could at least get the app to the point where I can add devices and start setting up activities so I could see how flexible this is compared to my 1000. I don't want to spend the $100 for the hub only to find out this is at best equal to my 1000.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-21-2015, 07:38 AM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonmb View Post
I've been using the Harmony Smart Control on one of my systems. It includes an IR blaster that sits in my equipment rack and an iOS app that works pretty well to control everything over wifi. There's also a basic small handheld remote as backup. I know there are not a lot of Harmony fans here, but for $130 it seems to work pretty well.
Harmony Smart Control - Remote for iPad, iPhone & Android - Logitech
The issue I have with Harmony is that it requires an internet connection at all times and the remote would stop working if the internet goes down.

I don't know if they solved it in the last version. I can't find anything relating to that.
__________________
Georges
Halgorythme SE1605 - Accuphase C2110 -Directstream DAC - SoTM SMS200Ultra with SPS500 - PS Audio P5
Sonus Faber Elipsa Red - Roon and Roon Rock
Avid Sequel SP - SME V - Ortofon Cadenza Blue - Halgorythme phono pre pre
PC Electra and Silver Electra 7 - Speaker WW Silver Eclipse 7 - XLR WW Silver Eclispe 7 - Stillpoints - Digital WW Platinum Eclipse USB - WW Platinum Eclipse Phono Cable - Townshend podium
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:20 AM
Antonmb's Avatar
Antonmb Antonmb is offline
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northwest Washington (Mt Baker foothills)
Posts: 6,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antipop View Post
The issue I have with Harmony is that it requires an internet connection at all times and the remote would stop working if the internet goes down. I don't know if they solved it in the last version. I can't find anything relating to that.
Georges, the Harmony Hub and controller only require an Internet connection for setup, not for use. It does require wifi, since this is how the handheld remote and ipad communicate with the hub.
__________________
Tony
"Have you seen the stars tonight?"
________________________________
Main system: Linn Klimax Katalyst DSM; D’Agostino Momentum S250 amp & HD preamp; Rega RP10 w/Rega Aphelion; Boulder 508; Sonus Faber Amati Futura; Shunyata Denali 6000T, Alpha NR & EF power, Ztron Cobra IC & SC; Quadraspire Sunoko-Vent T, ISOAcoustics Orea footers, HRS Damping Plates; SonicTransporter i7 & Synology DS412+; Audio Desk Pro
Personal audio: Woo Audio WA6, WA7 & WA8; Auralic Aries Mini, Sonore MicroRendu & UltraRendu, A&K AK100 II, AKG Q701, Shure SE535, Shure SH1540, Westone ES50 Custom, Sennheiser HD800, MrSpeakers Aeon Flow C, Various Moon Audio dragons
2nd system: Luxman SQ-N100, PSB Imagine Mini, REL T-5, refurbished AR XA w/Nagaoka MP-200 & VPI cabling, Linn Klimax DSM Renew, Shunyata Venom PS8 w/Defender & Viper, Nordost Blue Heaven power & IC, Acoustic Zen sc, Symposium Svelte Shelves
Workshop: Vintage Yamaha CA-1010 amp & CT-1010 tuner, Martin Logan Motion 4, Squeezebox Touch, Schiit BiFrost, AZ & WW cables
Video: Sony XBR65X850C; Apple TV-4; Vienna Acoustics Schönberg L/R, Webern center & surrounds; REL T1/T2/T3 subs; Arcam AVR850; Cambridge Audio 752BD; MIT-EXP SC
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:41 AM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonmb View Post
Georges, the Harmony Hub and controller only require an Internet connection for setup, not for use. It does require wifi, since this is how the handheld remote and ipad communicate with the hub.
My understanding is that you need a live connection to the internet to use the app on your iPhone or iPad.

However, the remote works fine without a connection.

If I'm correct, I don't understand why they do it like that and I don't see the gain compared to my 900 if you still need a remote.
__________________
Georges
Halgorythme SE1605 - Accuphase C2110 -Directstream DAC - SoTM SMS200Ultra with SPS500 - PS Audio P5
Sonus Faber Elipsa Red - Roon and Roon Rock
Avid Sequel SP - SME V - Ortofon Cadenza Blue - Halgorythme phono pre pre
PC Electra and Silver Electra 7 - Speaker WW Silver Eclipse 7 - XLR WW Silver Eclispe 7 - Stillpoints - Digital WW Platinum Eclipse USB - WW Platinum Eclipse Phono Cable - Townshend podium
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2019 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase