AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Marantz

Marantz Life Amplified

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:01 AM
tom1120s tom1120s is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coast of Maine
Posts: 168
Default Sc7s2

Running unbalanced, can a splitter be used to run two subs from the pre-out?
__________________
Marantz MA9S2/SC7S2/SA-7S1/JBL 1400/1500 Array
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:49 PM
tdelahanty's Avatar
tdelahanty tdelahanty is online now
Audio,Trains & Mustangs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1120s View Post
Running unbalanced, can a splitter be used to run two subs from the pre-out?
Try it and see if it sounds OK. There are two sets of RCA outputs which are paralelled, not individually buffered. I doubt it will harm anything, if it sounds bad, the load is too much.
__________________
System: Levinson 585, Esoteric K05, SF Olympica lll's, Nordost ic's, AQ spkr cbl, PS Audio PP10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2012, 10:24 AM
tom1120s tom1120s is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coast of Maine
Posts: 168
Default

Another question: Can this pre use one balanced pre out and one RCA out to different amps at the same time. Someone has advised that this could be done and it works but the manual seems the opposite.
__________________
Marantz MA9S2/SC7S2/SA-7S1/JBL 1400/1500 Array
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2012, 05:15 PM
tdelahanty's Avatar
tdelahanty tdelahanty is online now
Audio,Trains & Mustangs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1120s View Post
Another question: Can this pre use one balanced pre out and one RCA out to different amps at the same time. Someone has advised that this could be done and it works but the manual seems the opposite.
I've pondered this question many times. I think it will work fine. My best guess is that the manual implies you can't run balanced and RCA to the same amp.
__________________
System: Levinson 585, Esoteric K05, SF Olympica lll's, Nordost ic's, AQ spkr cbl, PS Audio PP10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:14 PM
bobschneider's Avatar
bobschneider bobschneider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1120s
Another question: Can this pre use one balanced pre out and one RCA out to different amps at the same time. Someone has advised that this could be done and it works but the manual seems the opposite.
I do exactly that with my SC11S1 - Balanced outs to the main power amp, RCA outs to the subwoofer amp. Works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2013, 09:18 PM
toddmorr toddmorr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 29
Default

guess i'm too new to create a new thread. Anyway, i'm using MA9S2/SC7S2 combo with the new Marantz CD player..think its the SA11S3. Am wanting to try some balanced interconnects but I can see the pin arrangement of all the marantz hardware is different than most manufacturers. Is there a problem using some aftermarket balanced interconnects such as Mogami, Morrow or Signal? I would think as long as the components being connected are all Marantz there this would be Ok. true?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2013, 08:41 AM
tom1120s tom1120s is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coast of Maine
Posts: 168
Default

Good question. I would like to know the answer to this as well, although I do not think I can use a sub at that point.
__________________
Marantz MA9S2/SC7S2/SA-7S1/JBL 1400/1500 Array
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:10 AM
altbrewer's Avatar
altbrewer altbrewer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Buda, TX
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddmorr View Post
guess i'm too new to create a new thread. Anyway, i'm using MA9S2/SC7S2 combo with the new Marantz CD player..think its the SA11S3. Am wanting to try some balanced interconnects but I can see the pin arrangement of all the marantz hardware is different than most manufacturers. Is there a problem using some aftermarket balanced interconnects such as Mogami, Morrow or Signal? I would think as long as the components being connected are all Marantz there this would be Ok. true?
You are correct. Even if they were connected to a unit with the alternate pin connections, the only effect would be inversion of the phase of the signal. Some people think this is important, but given the many opportunities for phase inversion during the recording/mastering/manufacturing steps of music media, I am not sure this matters much.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:32 AM
tdelahanty's Avatar
tdelahanty tdelahanty is online now
Audio,Trains & Mustangs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altbrewer View Post
You are correct. Even if they were connected to a unit with the alternate pin connections, the only effect would be inversion of the phase of the signal. Some people think this is important, but given the many opportunities for phase inversion during the recording/mastering/manufacturing steps of music media, I am not sure this matters much.
If you are concerned about phase under the conditions you described there is a simple and much overlooked solution. Simply reverse the speaker connections at your amp or speakers, but not both. I faced the same situation when using a Sim Supernova CDP and this works great and is a perfectly acceptable fix.

For some reason the USA and Europe have different standards, pin 1 is ground for both but pins 2 & 3 are reversed.
__________________
System: Levinson 585, Esoteric K05, SF Olympica lll's, Nordost ic's, AQ spkr cbl, PS Audio PP10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2013, 05:37 PM
McGruder's Avatar
McGruder McGruder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobschneider View Post
I do exactly that with my SC11S1 - Balanced outs to the main power amp, RCA outs to the subwoofer amp. Works fine.
I do this also - essentially run stereo subs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2019 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase