AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Ayre

Ayre A new dimension of musical enjoyment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #331  
Old 11-14-2017, 05:31 AM
Tecknik1 Tecknik1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: HCM Viet Nam
Posts: 94
Default

dbphd, please expand on your analog repair being done and how was it detected that it was an analog issue.
__________________
Audio Research Ref 3 Pre Amp , Accuphase A 65 Class A Amp, Arye QX 5 Twenty Digital Hub, Melco N1ZH Server , Nordost QB 8, QX 4, Dynaudio Special 25,s, Novum PMR Resonator, Furutech FP-S55N, FI-50 NCF Connectors/ FI-09 NCF IEC Inlets , Furutech GTX-D NCF Receptacles . WW Platinum Series 7 IC,s Crystal Clear Audio Magnum Opus SC, AudioQuest Diamond USB, AudiQuest Diamond, Vodka, WW Starlight Ethernet Cables.
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 11-16-2017, 05:12 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 128
Default

All of a sudden, there was no audio, but the appropriate information showed up on the display as I switched inputs. I unplugged it over night, but still no audio. Ayre suggested I return the unit for service.

My latest contact with Ayre after more than a month is that they found a problem the techs have been unable to understand or fix. They are awaiting parts they hope may provide a fix.

My brief experience with the QX-5 tells me the sound quality with Roon delivering DSD files via the ethernet is superb, but I'm eager to try optical from an Oppo 105. The 105 works flawlessly with DirecTV and provides Netflix and Berlin Philharmonic services, whereas the 205 does neither. I'll use the 205 for Blu-rays and UHD. It's no match for the C-5xeMP when playing CDs or SACDs.

db
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 11-18-2017, 12:07 AM
Blackstone Blackstone is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 224
Default

Ayre will fix ya up. I had a similar issue and it went in and came back absolutely rock solid stable. I havenít had to power cycle it or reset it for months since it came back. Rock solid, but if issue pops up go to Ayre those guys are the best and they will make it perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 11-19-2017, 03:07 PM
ctsooner ctsooner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Berlin, CT
Posts: 396
Default

agree with Blackstone. The service is outstanding.
__________________
Ayre AX-5/Twenty,QX5,MacMini/HynesLPS,Vandersteen Quatro's
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 11-21-2017, 10:22 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 128
Default

I received an email this evening from UPS telling a parcel is on its way from Ayre. That must be my QX-5 Twenty!
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 11-23-2017, 05:59 PM
ctsooner ctsooner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Berlin, CT
Posts: 396
Default

AWESOME. keep us posted.
__________________
Ayre AX-5/Twenty,QX5,MacMini/HynesLPS,Vandersteen Quatro's
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 11-29-2017, 07:00 PM
dbphd dbphd is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 128
Default

I reinstalled the QX-5 Monday, had a loss of audio Tuesday evening, but a power cycle Wednesday morning restored audio. I played the Take Five download from Acoustic Sounds, and it seemed to sound even better than playing the disc on the C-5xeMP. Amazing.

db
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 12-20-2017, 07:35 PM
Talos4 Talos4 is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I am happy to announce purchase of the QX-5 20. The goal is to replace the DAC portion of the (pre-NEO) Simaudio 350p. Depending how things sound it may replace the 350p altogether. Amplifier - Simaudio 400mís (again pre-NEO). Speakers - Thiel CS3.7ís. After it arrives and two weeks of burn-in Iíll report my impressions.
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 12-21-2017, 04:15 AM
BillK BillK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 902
Default

Out of curiosity are new buyers still going for the "full" QX-5 Twenty, or are people choosing to leave out options for the lower price point?
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 12-22-2017, 05:52 PM
Talos4 Talos4 is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I chose USB but no Ethernet. I have an Aurender N100H I am happy with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2018 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Fortress
Fortress
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Audeze
Audeze
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Acoustic Sciences Corportation
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase