AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Home Theater (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Feels good to be done (almost). (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=42761)

KapHn8d 04-17-2018 05:08 PM

Feels good to be done (almost).

Well, it took me a while, but I'm almost ready to call it done (for now). I still need a stand or table to get the center channel off the floor, but outside that, I think I'm going to take a break and enjoy it.

This is my first home theater... dedicated or otherwise. I wouldn't have been able to do it without all the incredible guidance and help I received from AA'ers here in the forum, at Ivan's event in the Cape, and the many face-to-face discussions in between. You guys even got me to call my home builder mid-framing and reconfigure the plans to accommodate better room dimensions. I've learned a lot, but I'm still a newbie. Some of my component selections were based on financial limitations, but I've hopefully built a solid foundation (on a budget) that I can incrementally upgrade over time.

So here are the CliffsNotes:
  • Sony VPL-VW385ES 4K/HDR projector
  • Screen Innovations Zero Edge Slate 1.2 projection screen (150" @ 16:9) w/256K color LED accent lighting kit
  • Marantz AV8802A pre-amp
  • Marantz MM8077 multi-channel amp (x2 so each speaker has its own power channel)
  • Sonus Faber Venere 3.0 for L,C,R (the Venere center is probably the weak point in the room right now)
  • Bowers and Wilkins CWM7.3 (x6 for side and rear surround)
  • Bowers and Wilkins CCM7.3 (x4 for ATMOS height channels)
  • JL Audio Fathom f112v2 (x2)
  • OPPO UDP‑203 for BluRay
  • nVidia Shield TV Pro for streaming platform (VUDU, TIDAL, Netflix, etc)
  • URC Total Control 2.0 MRX-10 "brain" with TDC-7100 controller for automation