AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Just Smoking & Drinking (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Starting a cigar collection (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=38716)

antipop 02-27-2017 10:48 AM

Starting a cigar collection

It's all in the title. I'm new to the hobby and I'm looking at tips to start a small collection.

What are the required gear that you need to start and where is the best cigars to start with?

Mikado463 02-27-2017 11:41 AM

Georges, are you going to smoke them (eventually) or just 'collect' them ?

antipop 02-27-2017 01:39 PM

The goal is to eventually smoke them for special occasions :)

Mikado463 02-27-2017 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antipop (Post 834363)
The goal is to eventually smoke them for special occasions :)

then when the 'special occasion' arrises go to your local cigar shop and buy a few.

Buying cigars for special occasions and storing them makes little sense.

But if that's what you want to do, you'll need a small to mid sized humidor. Ideal storage is out of sunlight @ 70 degrees and 70% humidity.

If you've never smoked before start out with something mild, Macanudo for example and experiment upwards from there. Ideally. if you have a cigar shop near by ....... stop in !

Masterlu 02-27-2017 02:20 PM

Georges... I'll post some pics of my Cigar sickness here soon... :confused-18:

It started with 20 sticks and a nice cigar box/humidor. Today, it's a walk in Humidor with over 200 boxes.

Mikado463 02-27-2017 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Masterlu (Post 834372)

It started with 20 sticks and a nice cigar box/humidor. Today, it's a walk in Humidor with over 200 boxes.

that's not a sickness but an epidemic ........... very nice !

phishphan 02-27-2017 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by antipop (Post 834333)
It's all in the title. I'm new to the hobby and I'm looking at tips to start a small collection.