AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Home Theater (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Black lines on the upper and lower side of the screen (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=42110)

ducman748 02-06-2018 05:10 AM

Black lines on the upper and lower side of the screen

Good morning dear ht lovers,

I am a complete noob with home theater projectors, I just bought a Sony VPL-45ES projector for the first time in my life :yes:.
I have a 16/9 screen in my theater but when I play a movie the upper and the lower side stays dark so the screen is nog compleet filled in.
is this normal is there anything that I could do?

thanks in advance for the reply already

crwilli 02-06-2018 09:24 AM

black lines on the upper and lower side of the screen

If the picture fills your 16:9 screen left to right and you have black bars at the top and bottom, I would check the settings in your source (cable/satellite box or BluRay/DVD player) and the projector to insure they are all set for 16:9 output. One or more of them may be set for 21:9...

Should be a simple fix

ducman748 02-06-2018 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crwilli (Post 897581)
If the picture fills your 16:9 screen left to right and you have black bars at the top and bottom, I would check the settings in your source (cable/satellite box or BluRay/DVD player) and the projector to insure they are all set for 16:9 output. One or more of them may be set for 21:9...

Should be a simple fix

Thank u for your reply I am playing for the moment with a atv 3 and a MacBook.
Can't find the issue so far

chessman 02-06-2018 11:44 AM

Also, many movies are shot in aspect ratios wider than 16:9, resulting in those black bars, which is completely normal when you do not have a special adjustable lens and adjustable screen width.

crwilli 02-06-2018 11:49 AM