AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   SilenZio (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=180)
-   -   chessman's Silenzio (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=30098)

chessman 02-03-2015 12:11 AM

chessman's Silenzio

I am jumping into computer sourced audio under the tutelage of our own Emile (Audio by E). I am a total newb, so if I can get it working, anyone can.

First, the plan: Silenzio media server, 4 bay Network Attached Storage (NAS) (Raid 10), USB cable connection to Estoteric K-01.

Second, the setup: Silenzio on rack, NAS in other room to eliminate hard drive noise, Cat 6 ethernet cable connecting Silenzio to router, Cat 6 ethernet cable connecting NAS to router, WireWorld Platinum Starlight USB connecting Silenzio to K-01, 21" flat screen monitor, wireless keyboard, Shunyata MPC-12 power distributor.

Third, the Sonos side deal: Sonos Connect in two channel rack, Play 3 in family room (which will see the NAS and therefore be able to stream everything upstairs for casual listening, i.e. screened in porch). Also have a W4S Remedy in the chain in two channel rack. Obviously, the Sonos is not needed for the Silenzio as source - it is just there to give me internet radio, my iPhone and Deezer as additional choices for music above and beyond what is on the NAS.

Fourth, the alphabet voodoo of "ripping:" I am using Exact Audio Copy (EAC) to rip my CDs. I will put them in FLAC format so that I can add tags. I will play them back using JRiver. There are a host of other choices. These are mine. :) I will be using the "accurate" EAC method. I know it's slower and I know I can "probably" get away with the "speedy" method, but this is an all out attempt at computer high fidelity, so I am not going to cut corners.