AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   JL Audio (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Fathom or E-sub (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=35598)

cyisone01 04-24-2016 01:52 AM

Fathom or E-sub

Going to upgrade my sub in my home theater and trying to decide between the two sub. Any suggestions or words of wisdom?

markbodiford 04-24-2016 04:01 PM

Without question, get a Fathom. A big one. Two when able. Then you will know what perfection is like.

paulphoosreal 04-24-2016 04:43 PM

I've been a CEDIA installer for over 10 years and have heard over 30 brands of speakers and subs. Nothing prepared me for the sound I got out of my Aerial 7s when I put 2 E110s to the outside of them. They are next to my mains and I crossover at 42HZ approximately. I use high and low pass on the the E sub. And that is what makes the E a better bet for the 7s. It's an active crossover both ways and is very close to what Aerial uses in the 7. YMMV

Masterlu 04-24-2016 05:36 PM

paulphoosreal... Welcome to AA! :wave:

jdandy 04-24-2016 06:25 PM

paulphoosreal.......Welcome to Audio Aficionado. :wave:

GaryProtein 04-24-2016 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cyisone01 (Post 775830)
Going to upgrade my sub in my home theater and trying to decide between the two sub. Any suggestions or words of wisdom?

We love to spend other people's money here--and we're good at it! :D :D :D

What amps and speakers are you using in the rest of the system?

Do you want one or two subs?

Do you have a budget?

cyisone01 04-25-2016 01:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryProtein (Post 775968)
We love to spend other people's money here--and we're good at it! :D :D :D

What amps and speakers are you using in the rest of the system?

Do you want one or two subs?

Do you have a budget?