AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Pass Labs (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=143)
-   -   Pass Labs Int-30A (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=25057)

SPaulC 01-26-2014 10:22 PM

Pass Labs Int-30A

I am relatively new to AA and brand new to Pass Labs. I just ordered an
Int-30A to replace my current integrated (Vecteur 80 W @ 8ohms). I will be using the Int-30A to drive Magnepan MG12's in my relatively small dedicated room (14' X 11' X 9.5'ceilings). Unfortunately because I don't have a dealer nearby I have not heard the amp (or any Pass Labs amps for that matter). So this is a bit of a gamble (although with the 10 day grace period with Reno Hi-Fi I can return them in the unlikely case I am not happy).

I know the new .8 amps will be hitting the market soon but I figure starting with the .5 based integrated (demo) will give me a good idea of what is possible. Here is hoping that 60Watts of Class A into 4 ohms & some A/B headroom will work well enough with the Maggies. In any case, finding out what Class A is all about will be part of the fun.

Mikado463 01-26-2014 10:35 PM

while I can't speak to the amp driving your Maggie's I can state that in my son's system it does a superb job driving his sweet sounding Zu's ……..

junker 01-27-2014 06:28 AM

Great choice!

There will be no .8 integrated so you aren't missing anything and this is per my conversation with Desmond, the CEO:

You did not miss out. There is no integrated in the point 8 series and probably will not be for some time if ever. We have more than enough on our plate for now.

Desmond.

Secondly, That amp puts out WAY more than 30/60...it's more like 130/195!

Pass Labs XA30.5 power amplifier Measurements | Stereophile.com

And what it doesn't do with power, it does with CURRENT which is what those Maggies will love. No, my friend you made a great choice. That is the value kingpin in their line-up!!! Good choice!!!