AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Vinyl & Accessories (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Static build up, really bad. (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=46897)

Mgrenwick 10-22-2019 03:34 PM

Static build up, really bad.

The mat that came with my table might as well be a wool sweater.
The amount of static building up is nuts. When I went to flip the record the mat was stuck to the record.

I am new to this hobby, and so far it's not going well.
What can I do to prevent this static build up.
I was using the mofi brush to clean the record prior to playing but I think that was making it worse.

What brush should I get?
What mat material should I look at?

Puma Cat 10-22-2019 04:39 PM

Get a Milty ZeroStat.

W9TR 10-22-2019 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mgrenwick (Post 983329)
The mat that came with my table might as well be a wool sweater.
The amount of static building up is nuts. When I went to flip the record the mat was stuck to the record.

I am new to this hobby, and so far it's not going well.
What can I do to prevent this static build up.
I was using the mofi brush to clean the record prior to playing but I think that was making it worse.

What brush should I get?
What mat material should I look at?

What's the RH in your home? Should be around 30%. Here in Salida it has been exceedingly dry outside 5-12% RH most days.

Is your TT grounded? My Dais has a separate ground for the platter/bearing structure. If you have that option use it as it will help dissipate any static buildup.

audio bill 10-22-2019 06:36 PM

If you do a search for anti-static turntable mats you'll find many options, priced from ~$10 on up. They can often eliminate the static problem without having to add steps to your playback process like using other anti-static devices.

Antonmb 10-23-2019 01:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by W9TR (Post 983338)