PDA

View Full Version : AVID Volvere SP & phono preamp

rscotth
07-11-2011, 10:38 AM
Greetings,

I'm running my AVID direct into my McIntosh C2300's phono stage and then to my amps. I've been thinking about a dedicated phono preamp, but I'm not sure if I'll gain anything, as the phono section on the 2300 is very fine. Can anyone explain to me if this change will yield any significant improvement, and if so, specifically, or am I better off keeping things as is? I was going to budget about $5K on this upgrade, but don't want to make the investment just for the sake of satisfying my LuFlu.

Thanks for your feedback.............Scott

Sent from my iPad using A.Aficionado

rscotth
07-13-2011, 10:43 AM
Anyone?

Masterlu
07-13-2011, 11:20 AM
I'm no expert on this topic, but with my limited experience I have found great improvements to be had with a dedicated phono pre.

hkval
07-13-2011, 11:22 AM
Serge(PHC1) is selling a EAR/Yoshino 324P phono stage for less than 1/2 price. He seems quite impressed with it and I believe is quite familiar with McIntosh phono amps. He is an excellent source.

rscotth
07-13-2011, 11:39 AM
Thanks guys. I'll read that review.

rscotth
07-13-2011, 12:26 PM
I'll give it dome thought. Thanks for the reply.

rscotth
07-13-2011, 12:26 PM
Some.

Masterlu
07-13-2011, 12:34 PM
I've sold quite a few Ear Phono Pre's over the years, everyone has loved them.

rscotth
07-13-2011, 12:39 PM
You guys are really tempting me.

Masterlu
07-13-2011, 12:44 PM
Some more info:

http://ear-usa.com/834reviews.htm

rockitman
07-13-2011, 02:42 PM
I'm no expert on this topic, but with my limited experience I have found great improvements to be had with a dedicated phono pre.

Unless of course you have the good fortune to own this linestage/phono combo:

darTZeel NHB-18NS
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/dartzeel2/hero1.jpg

http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/dartzeel2/hero_back3.jpg

review: