PDA

View Full Version : Turntable Isolation Platform

hkval
07-10-2011, 06:13 PM
Any advice or recommendations on a "reasonably priced" isolation platform for a moderately priced turntable? Or, is it even necessary if on a very solid piece of furniture? There is also a double sheetrock wall between the speakers and the turntable location.
Thanks,
Howard

eddiel
07-10-2011, 07:56 PM
What type of t/t do you have. It may make a difference. I'm no expert but I have read that some t/ts work well with rigid heavy supports where as others work better with rigid but light supports.

cmalak
07-10-2011, 08:04 PM
Howard...the best thing to do is to wall mount a TT platform as that will take all potential vibrations from footfalls out of the equation (if that is an option for you). If not, then the answer does depend on what type of TT design you have (suspended vs. mass-loaded) and how much your existing furniture/rack already absorbs/dampens vibrational energy. Some swear by a thick solid wood cutting board, such as: http://whatscookingamerica.net/CuttingBoards/EndGrainBoard.jpg

Others go for the Gingko platforms (as an example: http://gingkoaudio.com/cloud12.html), and others go for much higher tech (read higher cost) air bladder options. In my current apartment, the floor is suspended and so any footfalls migrate up the rack pretty quickly, but the Basis turntable's suspended design deals with the vibrations effectively so I have nothing underneath my TT. I guess the answer is it depends :dunno: Best thing to do is once you purchase your tt before you mount a cartridge on the tonearm, is just place the tt on your rack or wherever you plan placing it, and walk around pretty vigorously. If you see any play in the tonearm then you know you will need some kind of isolation device. I am sure others more knowledgeable than me will chime in but hope that helps.

hkval
07-10-2011, 08:25 PM