PDA

View Full Version : My next turntable, looking for ideas

1KW
01-18-2010, 09:28 AM
I have been using my Technic SL1200 mk V for the last 1 1/2 years and experimented with a few different MM cartridges. I started off this way as a experiment to see it I would like vinyl before investing thousands. I enjoy the hunt for new vinyl when I go to various record stores and yes the nostalgia of finding music from my youth. I do not have room in my rack to add a external phono pre amp so for now the C220 will have to do. I have thought about upgrading the tonearm with a SME 309 or MK V which could always be put on another TT later on. I like the convenienc of the controls on the Technic ie power on and off in the front as I have my tt on a slide out drawer. I like being able to adjust the VTA without taking the TT apart although not having this feature is not a deal killer. What would you recommend as the next step ?

MC352
01-18-2010, 10:07 AM
I like these two -

There are two pictures of each one.

The JA Michell GyroDec SE

http://www.needledoctor.com/core/media/media.nl?id=33&c=ACCT106601&h=54e3a19d62dc4d4d81f8

and this one

The Clearaudio Performance CMB Turntable
http://www.needledoctor.com/core/media/media.nl?id=13658&c=ACCT106601&h=ec272e1de384ba242ff5

1KW
01-18-2010, 10:14 AM
Chuck,

The first 2 are works of art.

MC352
01-18-2010, 10:24 AM
Yeah, I really like that one.

PHC1
01-18-2010, 11:54 AM
David, take a look here to get some ideas and also give Jeff of A/v Solutions a call! The Hanss tables seem to be great value.

www.needledoctor.com

cmalak
01-18-2010, 02:25 PM