PDA

View Full Version : Seeking assistance in locating a professional to do a cartridge replacement in IL

Hans Christian
01-04-2014, 11:14 PM
I have just turned a page in my all McIntosh stereo setup and added a turntable MT5. While I am happy with the sound, it is obvious that the cartridge is the week point but conveniently our Ivan came to the rescue again with a promo offer from Ortofon which I took full advantage of and just ordered the Cadenza Bronze cartridge.
However, I am really a novice and I would not feel comfortable in changing/messing up such an expensive setup and thus I am now asking my fellow turntable friends here if you can recommend a professional to do the replacement. I live in Illinois - Unfortunately it is in the middle of the state (Decatur to be exact which is 3 hours south of Chicago/2.5 hours north of St Louis/2.5 hours west of Indianapolis or 45 minutes from Springfield.
Hopefully someone can recommend someone or point me in the right direction?

In advance many thanks

Hans Christian

jdandy
01-05-2014, 12:58 AM
Hans.......You may have to wait until Spring. :D

http://www.comitini.com/images/park_snow_550.jpg

Hans Christian
01-05-2014, 01:35 AM
The way that this cold spell is developing it certainly feel this way

1KW
01-05-2014, 09:58 AM
It is really not hard to set up a cartridge as long as you have a little bit of patience. Set up can actually be fairly simple if you have a proper protractor for your tone arm.

cmalak
01-05-2014, 12:02 PM
I have just turned a page in my all McIntosh stereo setup and added a turntable MT5. While I am happy with the sound, it is obvious that the cartridge is the week point but conveniently our Ivan came to the rescue again with a promo offer from Ortofon which I took full advantage of and just ordered the Cadenza Bronze cartridge.